Sir Quincy And The Sickened Sister, Part 1

Jared Denstad
3 min readFeb 17, 2021

Note: This poem is a work in progress that can be influenced by you, the reader. Please read the information below the line after reading the poem for more details.

Sir Quincy is a brave and gallant knight
Upholder of justice and all that is right
A true hero, and always loyal to his king
Of his deeds do the bards gladly sing

How then did he win such renown
Known from the greatest city to the smallest town
It all began just after he first became a knight
So pull up a seat, open your ears, and sit tight

Quincy was walking the castle streets one morn
He had just been knighted, he was a man reborn
Bedecked in shining armor and clinking mail
Seeking to aid the needy and frail

When what should happen to his surprise
But a letter suddenly falls from the skies
Delivered by a raven from across the vale
Quincy opened it, his face turning pale

It was from his parents both taken by fear
For it concerned his sister Slaine whom he held most dear
She was extremely ill with a disease most rare
A wandering doctor had helped them manage the affair

There was but one cure and no time to waste
A nightfruit was required please bring it posthaste
Hurry please and bring it home to us nigh
For if you don’t then Slaine will surely die

There was a problem, no one seemed to know
Just whether nightfruit continued to grow
It had become rather difficult to find
And it put Quincy in a real bind

Then Quincy was fired up as inspiration burst
And he ran into the crowd headfirst
For he remembered there was a apothecary nearby
Surely they could help him, it was worth a try

Thinking of nothing else he almost did not see
The merchant walking beside him quietly
Excuse me Sir Knight, he said from his cart
Causing Quincy to stop with a start

Sorry dear merchant you took me by surprise
I’m sorry to say I don’t need any supplies
Will you please take a moment to listen to my tale
It’s absolutely horrible and beyond the pale

I was traveling through the forest beyond the hills
My cart and wagon full to the gills
When I was beset upon by a monstrous troll
Who from me my wagon stole

It chased me all the way to the city gates
And then sat down and my horses it ate
And returned to the forest it was such a fright
Won’t you help me please, fair knight?

©Jared Denstad

_________________________________

At this point, Quincy has a choice to make. This is where you, the reader come in. You have to decide whether Quincy will help the merchant defeat the troll, or leave him behind and focus on helping his sister and visiting the apothecary. Whichever side receives the most votes after a week is the one I will write.

There are multiple ways you can vote. You can leave a reply on this post with your decision, vote on this twitter poll, or email me your choice at professortolkienpoetry@gmail.com. After one week, I will tally up the results and start writing the next part which should be published the following week. This process will continue until the story is complete.

--

--

Jared Denstad

Born and raised in Minnesota, I write short poems about life, death, and everything that comes in between.